Golden Trout

What I love about wild brown trout is the variety of colours they take on according to their natural environment. Dark peaty waters produce trout which are sometimes so black that you can barely make out their spots. Lochs that are tinged with peat can produce some of the most beautiful coloured trout. Those that have clear water tend to produce silvery light coloured fish. Shetland has such a diversity of lochs producing an amazing variety of fish and I am fortunate enough to have enjoyed catching some incredibly coloured brown trout. My favourite fish it has to be said are those with a beautiful golden tinge to them. In the forty or more years I have lived up here in the northern isles I have found only a few of these lochs in my travels so you will I am sure forgive me if I don’t reveal their locations.

Clear water lochs tend to be quite alkaline in nature, have fairly rich feeding and as a result the fish tend to grow well.

  • Peacock Herl Suspender Buzzer
About a pound and a half caught on a suspender buzzer in bright sun 3rd June 2021

One thought on “Golden Trout

Leave a comment